AFCAT Notification and Eligibility Criteria

AFCAT notification. Check eligibility, educational qualification and how to apply for AFCAT exam online. Want to become an officer or pilot in Indian Air Force? Air Force Common Admission Test is held by IAF to shortlist candidates for officer jobs.

AFCAT 2 2017 Notification

Indian Air Force has issued notification for AFCAT 1 2017 course. Last date to apply for AFCAT 1 2017 is 29 December 2016. Only online applications are invited from the Indian Air Force.

Check out AFCAT 2017 notification

Branches and courses of IAF to apply through AFCAT

AFCAT exam is conducted by Indian Air Force for the following courses in various IAF branches. There are six branches available in IAF.

  • Flying Branch
  • Technical Branch
  • Administrative and Logistics Branch
  • Medical Branch
  • Education Branch
  • Accounts Branch

Flying Branch in IAF

Flying branch in Indian Air Force is the best and ace branch which consists of fighter, transport and helicopter pilots and navigators. Pilots and navigators enjoy the maximum pay and allowance benefits among all branches of IAF. Being a pilot in IAF requires tremendous courage and great amount of professionalism. in order to become a pilot in IAF, one needs to qualify in Pilot Aptitude & Battery Test i.e., PABT examination conducted at the time of SSB interview. Once you qualify in PABT exam and recommended by the AFSB board, you will be absorbed into Flying Branch. According to the performance in the training period, cadets are allotted type of aircraft he will be flying. There are three categories of fighter pilots viz., Fighter, Transport and Helicopter. Accordingly specialised training will be given in the allotted aircraft type.

Eligibility criteria of Air Force flying branch

Age : Candidates wishing to apply for Flying branch needs to be aged between 20 to 24 years of age at the time of course commencement. Persons with Commercial Pilot License (CPL) are exempted two years in the age eligibility criteria by IAF.

Educational Qualification : Any graduate with 60 percent aggregate from a recognized university can apply for the Flying branch courses. 

Current job openings in Flying branch of IAF : Currently, IAF has invited the applications from eligible male and female candidates for the following Flying branch courses.

Technical Branch in IAF

Technical branch is associated with maintenance of all machinery used in IAF. There are two sub branches in IAF i.e., Aeronautical Engineer (Electronics) and Aeronautical Engineer (Mechanical). Technical officers are eligible for technical allowance. Being as a technical officer in IAF is also challenging as they need to be updated with day to day technological advancements.

Eligibility criteria for IAF technical branch

Technical branch of IAF is again divided as Aeronautical Engineers (E) and Aeronautical Engineers (M).

Age : Age of the applicant should be between 20 to 26 years of age at the time of course commencement.

Educational qualification : Applicant must be an engineer or studying in final year of engineering from recognised university with 60 percent aggregate in all papers. AMIE and IETE students and graduates can also apply for technical branch courses.

Candidate should have studied at least eight essential subjects prescribed by Indian Air Force to apply for AFCAT entrance examination.


Essential subjects for Aeronautical Engineer (Electronics) technical branch : Following are the complete list of subjects for AE(L) branch.

(L1) Physics / Engineering Physics (L2) Mathematics / Engineering Mathematics (L3) Engineering

Graphics  /  Engineering  Drawing  (L4)  Electrical  Engineering  /  Electrical  Technology  (L5)  Control

Engineering (L6) Microprocessors (L7) Digital Electronics / Basic Electronics (L8) Computer Networks

(L9) Information Technology (L10) Network Theory Design (L11) Telecommunication Systems  (L12)

Electronic Circuit Design (L13) Radar Theory  (L14) Switching Theory (L15) Instrumentation (L16)

Microwave Engineering (L17) Antenna and Wave Propagation (L18) Electronic Devices.

Essential subjects for Aeronautical Engineer (Mechanical) technical branch : Following are the complete list of subjects for AE(M) branch.

(M1) Physics / Engineering Physics (M2) Engineering Maths / Mathematics (M3) Engineering Drawing

/ Graphics (M4) Automotive Engineering / Plant Engineering / Industrial Engineering

(M5) Engineering Mechanics / Strength of Material (M6) Aerodynamics (M7) Thermodynamics and

Applications  /  Heat Power Engineering (M8)  Heat  and Mass Transfer (M9) Theory  of Machines

(Kinematics  and  Dynamics  of Machinery) (M10) Fluid Mechanics  / Turbo Machines (M11) Flight

Mechanics (M12) Machine Drawing / Machine Design (M13) Mechatronics  (M14) Material Science /

Metallurgy (M15) Vibrations  (M16) Workshop Technology / Manufacturing Technology / Production

Engineering (M17) Hydraulics and Pneumatics   (M18) Aircraft Structures.

Indian Air Force Ground Branch

Ground branch includes Administrative & Logistics branch, Accounts branch and Education branch. For all ground branches, IAF conducts Ground Duty Officer's Course i.e., GDOC. Mainly ground duty officers deal with administrative and accounting tasks required to support various facilities to the technical and air crew of Indian Air Force. 

Eligibility criteria for ground branches 

Age : For graduates, age limit is set from 20 to 23 years. For post graduates and LLB graduates, age should be from 20 to 25 years. Whereas, for M Ed / Ph D /  CA  / ICWA graduates, maximum age limit is set to 27 years.

Educational qualification : For Administrative and Logistics branches, graduates with 60 percent aggregate marks or post graduates with 50 percent aggregate marks can apply. For Accounts branch, B. Com students with 60 percent aggregate marks or Post Graduate Degree in Commerce 

(MCom) / CA/ ICWA with 50 % marks can apply. For education branch, applicant should be post graduate in any discipline with 50 % aggregate marks.

Subscribe to our Email Newsletter